Another Wasted Sunday


Ah, well. It was wasted as far as work on my manuscript. A whole day to do whatever I wanted. Which should include writing. But instead, it included skipping church and sleeping in, waking to the birds singing instead of an alarm clock, snuggling with the hubby, cooking a heaping lot of breakfast food for brunch then watching the episodes of JAG I’d recorded the past two weeks. I can’t believe they are canceling that show. Only 2 more episodes left. Will Harm and Mac EVER sleep together? Man, I hope so. Either I’m way too wrapped up in TV, or I am a romantic at heart.

Seriously, I’ve come to the conclusion that characters are my strength in my writing. I can forgive a lot of weak plots if I love the characters. So many people say, well, you can’t compare movies and tv with novel writing…I say, why not? I mean, they are both about suspending reality and getting people involved in characters and their lives and what happens when you take them out of their ordinary world. Or when you step out of your own and into theirs.

Some examples of character-laden stories that I love, and get too involved in include all the CBS soaps. I mean, talk about worn out plots! But I’ve been watching these all my life, have grown up with the characters, and love to see what is happening with them next, and who gets tangled up with who. Another example is the Star Trek series, Stargate SG-1 and the like, which I guess can be considered sci-fi soaps. Again, similar plots, but the characters are FANTASTIC! I mean, Tom and B’Elanna, Troi and Riker, Sam and Jack…

Then you have shows like Dr. Quinn with Sully and Michaela…not to mention Desperate Housewives.

Oh, heck, I could go on, but I think you’re getting the idea.

The thing about writing is it takes awhile for us to realize our true strengths, and even longer to forgive ourselves for our weaknesses. And I am really starting to feel that characters are going to be my strength. And I am going to try really hard to quit beating myself up about the plot thing. I have plenty of people around me who can tutor me along with that.

Sigh.


2 Comments on “Another Wasted Sunday”

  1. chryscat says:

    I could break into the “Hallelujah” chorus, but I think it loses some translation over a blog. Needless to say, I’m a character-driven writer. And that, my friend, is how it shall be.
    Grins*

  2. Thanks, Chryscat! 🙂


Leave a Reply

