At least it provides a little variety…


Got another rejection today. THIS one was interesting. It was my own query letter…and a tiny square of pre-printed words that amounted to thanks but no thanks. *sigh*

Okay, today, I have no patience for professional courtesy. How about this:

Dear Agent/Editor of Choice:

Hi! I’m a writer from Texas who is pretty darn good at what she does. But I can’t write a good, hooking query for crap.

But I do want a career in writing, and I can do it, I know I can. I just need someone to take a look at my work and believe in it as much as I do. Everyone thinks they’re brilliant as a writer, I guess. I don’t claim to be brilliant, or to be the greatest novelist of all time. But I can tell good stories that will be widely appealing.

I want this career to support my family and help them lead a comfortable life. I know it’s not a quick fix-all or quick way to make money, but I am willing to put in the work to do it. I am working toward it. I’m a writer, and I want to be a published, best-selling, auto-buy author.

Since I was a child, I’ve wanted to have a career in a specialized field, and also to be a novelist. I’ve achieved one of my goals, having a 22 year career in the field of my choice. And I’ve been writing for quite a while, and have finished several novels, so I can finish what I start. I’m not just some dork who’s walked in off the street. I’m a dork who can get it done.

C’mon, give me a chance. Just one chance. Let me prove myself.

Sincerely–
Desperate Writer

Is that any better? It’s the truth. No cutesy pitch. Just the truth. It doesn’t tell you anything about my book. So far, that hasn’t gotten my foot in the door anyway. I can tell you what ideas I have to offer, after I know I will at least get a more creative rejection letter. I know, time constraints, yadda yadda yadda. I’ve heard it, and I understand. But still. Give me a crumb of hope, please? I have persistence. I have talent. What I haven’t had yet is LUCK.

*sigh*

4 Comments on “At least it provides a little variety…”

  1. Anonymous says:

    One unsolicited piece of advice for your query letter: Spell everything correctly. (“Everyone thinks their brilliant as a writer…”)

  2. Yes, that would help. Thanks. On real queries, I spellcheck better!

  3. Suzanne says:

    Aww, hugs on the rejection. But I love the letter. Give it a try, LOL.

  4. Thanks, Suzanne! I’m half-tempted to go ahead and send it.:)


Leave a Reply

