This Season of Thanksgiving



“Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend. Gratitiude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today, and creates a vision for tomorrow.” – – Melody Beattie ( via Cheryl Richardson Newsletter.)

Well, I can’t believe how fast the fall is going. Next week is Thanksgiving already. This afternoon, I made my annual batch of Chex Mix, and I can still smell the toasty aroma all the way here in the office. I usually only make it the once, and close enough to T-day as I can, to uphold the tradition of munching on it while I watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade.

I have so much to be thankful for every day, not just on one designated day in November. But I’m glad we have Thanksgiving, because a lot of the times I need to be reminded to remember all of those blessings. It’s so easy to get wrapped up in the hurry-scurry of everyday life, and too easy to focus on things that worry me or what I want or that I haven’t been accepted into the publishing world yet.

I’m thankful for my Savior. I’m thankful for my loving, faithful husband. I’m thankful for my family. I’m thankful for my friends. I’m thankful for my job. I’m thankful for my life. I’m thankful for my pets. I’m thankful that I can read. I’m thankful that I discovered writing. I’m thankful for my potential. I’m thankful for our military people, who step in harm’s way for me and my family. I’m thankful for my country. I’m thankful that I was born in Texas, and it is still my home. I’m thankful for the roof over my head. I’m thankful for the food that nourishes my body. I’m thankful I have people to love. I’m thankful I’ve had the chance to love the ones I’ve lost. I’m thankful for those who can make me laugh. I’m thankful for those that are there when I cry. I’m thankful that though we lost a baby last month, that I had the chance to experience motherhood for a short while. I thankful for the hope that I may be able to live out that promise to the fullest next time.

May God continue to bless me, and my family, and if it is His will, I pray he will make our family grow.

God Bless All who read this, and I hope you have a Blessed Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

