Crazy People and My Last Nerve


Do you ever just get tired of people? I mean, I’ve felt this way all week! Unless they were family, I just wasn’t in the mood to deal with anybody. (Still, I did get snippy with one family member, but I’ve already apologized.) Yet, when you work, or even step out of your front door it’s inevitable that you MUST interact with other humans. And with my customers and the general public, I DID behave myself. After all, it’s not their fault that they don’t have anyone to talk to all week, or that they have problems of their own or great stories to tell that naturally fall out when they’re in a hairstylist’s chair. Or that I’m so crabby. But inside I was screaming: I just want to go home where it’s quiet and I can be curled up with a blanket in my cave! It seemed I was bothered by all the NOISE around me this week too. Every so often I just “vant to be alone.” Or at least out of the public domain.

And is it me and my mood, or are people acting NUTZ?! It’s not even a full moon! I don’t think…No, I checked, it’s only 73% full…like some people’s brains at the moment. I mean, really.

Take these headlines plucked from my local paper today:

Politico: I’m an ex-prostitute

DALLAS – A man running for state representative acknowledged that he once worked as a prostitute but said he’s turned his life around and doesn’t regret his past.Mental tests ordered for hijack suspect

An Ohio man charged in a 2004 attempted bus hijacking will remain in a North Carolina federal hospital for another mental test, according to a court order issued Friday.


Mother angry son left alone outside of school

The day a substitute bus driver left her 14-year-old son in his wheelchair outside of Horace Mann Middle School, Rosa Fuentes was fed up. Man with box cutter robs shoe store

A man armed with a box cutter Thursday night robbed Payless Shoesource

Woman’s nose bitten off at dinner

TULSA, OKLA. – A family sitting down to dinner had to call police and an ambulance after a man allegedly bit off the nose of his girlfriend, authorities said.

Check This Out: Couple get married in funeral home

SPRINGFIELD, OHIO – Daisy Judy and John Franko thought the funeral home where they mourned their spouses was the perfect place to tie the knot. After all, it’s where they met.

I mean, really. Oh well. I bought some Thin Mint Girl Scout Cookies today, and that should do the trick. *sigh*Good news is– this week I got past the tricky “love scene” in my manuscript. My CPs seemed to like it. Now I need to move forward, right on to the resolution of the conflict and end this story. And I bought a new spiral and started freewriting ideas for the rest of the book. Sometimes, I just think better this way.

Anyhow, I’ll hush up and get to those cookies. I’ll try not to be so grouchy tomorrow.

4 Comments on “Crazy People and My Last Nerve”

  1. Gabrielle says:

    Hey, remember it was a full moon last week–that might have accounted for it. Time for lots of chocolate (and another viewing of Wlak The Line 😉 )

  2. Gabrielle says:

    Or, how about WALK the Line> Even better 🙂

  3. Yay! Thin Mints always make the world a better place, especially when you get the whole box to yourself.

    A whole box of Thin Mints is one serving, right?

    I love your new picture!

  4. Thanks! I took your advice. 🙂

    And that’s how I see it: 1 box = 1 serving!


Leave a Reply

