Domingo Delicioso


Well, folks, I am NO Bonnie Wren. We all miss her wit and grace, and yearn for her return. But her sabbatical has left a rent in the universe that threatens to become a black hole. So in the meantime, I offer my clumsy attempt to round up a few delicious tidbits for your Sunday reading amusement….

____________________________________________________________

The main mistake, the absolute no-no-never, most often mentioned is slagging the industry – specifically, an individual agent, editor or house – generally, whining and bitching in constant negatives. In effect, blogging as therapy. All those acid-laced “inner demons.”

OMG, Bernita, now I have to change my blogname and everything. I’ll wipe out all my whining and…and…crap. I’ll have no blog. 🙂 P.S. Congrats on the Thinking Blogger Award!

_____________________________________________________________

Eating brussel sprouts the day before a long bike ride will not result in the hoped for jet propulsion of one’s bike. It will, however do a credible job of protecting the rider from dog attacks. The ride was…miserable.

Oh, GroovyOldLady, Thanks for reinforcing my belief that food that is good for you is indeed the enemy. P.S. Bravo for your work on behalf of lung disease. _____________________________________________________________

I lived in Morocco as a small child– my father was in the navy and was stationed there. As a matter of fact, my younger sister was born there. Unfortunately, I was too young and have no real memories of it…I do, however, have a lasting phobia because of my time there.

Tell us, Judy, does Lord Voldemort have one or two heads? P.S. Good luck with the Portugese!

_____________________________________________________________

Stick me inside a poorly lit, overcrowded space that smells funky and watch me fa-reek. Can’t do it. Don’t wanna, ain’t gonna.

Angie, what a cult we are, those of us who love our favorite book dens. What you wrote, I identified with word for word! P.S. Good work on getting your Debut Dagger submission finished and sent.

______________________________________________________________

You know some days it is just hard to parent…Here you need to go to your knees and beg “don’t let me mess this up.” And then you second guess yourself…

Laurel,Hang in there, sister. What God leads you to, he brings you through. P.S. Kudos to you for having the strength and wisdom to know when to say when. You family is a blessing, and anyone who doesn’t understand your decisions needs to stop and re-examine their own priorities.

_____________________________________________________________

Life. It’s what bites you in the ass when you’re not looking and then backs over you a few times.

Oh, thanks for the laugh, Kristin! P.S. It sounds like you’re a great mom!

_______________________________________________________________

AAACK!!! What an idiot! Why not just rub yourself with feces and start hugging people? I know! Let’s all just go play in the damn sewer and get it over with, ok? Shall we all go a rollin’ in piles of decay and filth then sit down to a lovely snack of sandwiches???

Yeah, Sheryl Crow’s an idiot for saying all that. But she sings so pretty! I, myself, have an above average-sized ass. ( I’m an intermittent over-achiever. ) Thanks for the reminder, Ms.Karen. I need to go to the store. P.S. I, too have a cat who has set herself on fire.

_____________________________________________________________

And so help me GOD, I swore I would never tell my child, “because I said so!”

Kathleen, I find myself saying more and more things my parents used to say. And I don’t even have kids, so I have to farm those little gems out to other people’s kids. P.S. The Calvinator sounds like a little ball of fire!

_____________________________________________________________

A box of books, A box of books, A box of books … doin’ the I-Got-A-Box-Of-Books cha-cha.

I’m with you there, dink. A box of books is like CHRISTMAS. P.S. ((((HUGS)))) Memories surrounding loss are always difficult.

______________________________________________________________

I’m going to just let it go. I’m going to shut my bedroom door and lock them all out and forget about everything. I’m going to immerse myself in my secret pleasure. I’m pulling out the secret stash…

Squirrel, That looks like a GREAT stash to me! Familiar, too. 🙂 Looks like you wear it better than I do. P.S. Man that situation is hard. I hope it all smooths out.

_____________________________________________________________

…don’t try peeling it off those areas — yeeowtch!

You got me, Glitterati. Where can I get it? Regular retail? P.S. Fabulous stuff, your blog is. (Dang, why do I sound like Yoda all of a sudden?)

_____________________________________________________________

I’m sure that had I not been suffering from crushing cramps and a blister on my foot, I might would have even beaten the old lady right in front of me wearing a fanny pack and a visor.

PeacemongerMom, good for you for running the race! P.S.–This Republican, who has loved ones who are soldiers, prays that your child finds his way home safely, and soon. We appreciate what he does for us.

___________________________________________________________

Hot men in skirts with wood. If it’s not Scottish, it’s crap!

Dadgummit, Jaye, you made me look! I’m so ashamed. 😉 **Not.** 😉 P.S. What a great point, celebrating the little victories. It’s kinda like losing weight, I hate to look at the big picture and always feel like crap when I see how much I have to acheive. But I don’t look at the fact that I didn’t eat the whole hamburger this time.

______________________________________________________________

“SHUT THE F__K UP,” I yelled out the opening. I’m sure my Asian ESL next-door neighbors wonder what they did to warrant that abuse.

Heh. CornDog, I’d love to see them in class on show and tell day. P.S.I need some of that magic lipstick!

______________________________________________________________

The party is in 2 weeks and I have heard back from 19 people total (with the +guest included in that number) with 29 (and God only knows how many of those will be +guest) still outstanding, at least half of which haven’t even viewed the bloody invite.

Kathryn, I like Brandy’s advice…but it sounds like Indiana’s is wiser. 🙂 P.S. Your friend is in my prayers.

_____________________________________________________________

The Italians not only invented everything worth having – now they have come up with a telepathic mobile phone!

Love moments like those, Welshcakes Limoncello! P.S. It’s terrible to slog through business matters at such a terrible time, when all you want to do is cling to a loved one. ((((HUGS)))) to you.

______________________________________________________________

Suddenly, you’re not hip if you don’t twitter.

Elizabeth, I’ve just discovered I’m not hip. Oh, no, that was last week. Nevermind. P.S. I’m miserable on the oven I use now. There’s no telling what damage I could do with the cardboard variety. I’m glad it helps these people, though.

______________________________________________________________

His final actions blindside, leaving the reader to stare at the page, torn between jaw-dropping relief and unexpected despair.

Oooohhhh, another book for my TBR. Thanks, M.G.! P.S. I understand just enough Spanish to be dangerous.

______________________________________________________________

WHEW! Dang, Bonnie, I have a new appreciation for Super Sabado! Thanks for ALL the past Super Sabados, and I look forward to more in the future. Enjoy your break!

And not to part with tradition, here’s a little gem for all:

20 Comments on “Domingo Delicioso”

  1. Bonnie says:

    Wah!

    Bwa ha ha ha ha HA HA HA HA HA HA !!!!!

    I LOVE IT!

    Smoochies to you, April, you wonderful creature!

    Hey!

    Maybe we can work out a deal: I do every other Saturday, and you do every other Sunday, and then maybe later let somebody else in to our inner circle–but only the truly deserving creatures (like us. We are truly deserving creatures, yes, we are).

    P.S.

    “For God’s sakes, can’t you pass by a hole without putting somethin’ in it???” Hee, hee, what a funny woman the Fruitcake Lady was. I don’t remember her from the Christmas Story, though.

  2. Squirrel says:

    How totally cool, thanks for adding me! I was really missing Bonnies Sabato, this is great!

  3. Angie says:

    That’s so very, very cool that you picked up the battered baton from Bonnie – now I have my (pseudo) Super Sabado fix!

  4. Wow thank you so much for the encouragement.

    Great quotes.

    Thanks so much.

  5. desperatewriter says:

    I would be honored to trade days with you, Bonnie. When do you want to start? Do you want me to keep up Delicioso for awhile?

  6. desperatewriter says:

    Oh, and thanks so much for reading, all of you!

  7. Ms. Karen says:

    Wow! Thank you for the mention! It must be a lot of work, but you did a fabulous job.

    Thank you, April. (And thank YOU, Bonnie, for pointing me over this way).

  8. Corn Dog says:

    Hey, thanks for the linky.

    I love your site, especially that winking Dachshund. It reminds me of my little one.

  9. Kristen says:

    April,
    What a great fix Bonnie pointed me to.
    Withdrawals at bay.

    You did a grand job and great link hopping is on the way.

    Fantastic site.

  10. Bernita says:

    You’re a light in the dark that our Bonnie left!
    Thank you.

  11. OMG! This is so cool that you’re doing this!!

  12. dink says:

    Awwww, this is so sweet. Thanks for helping us through the Bonnie withdrawals. You did a terrific job.

    I’m going to add you as a link on my blog–if you don’t want me to, holler. ha

  13. desperatewriter says:

    Oh, sure, guys! It was fun doing it! 🙂 And thanks for the linkage, I really appreciate it!

  14. Judy says:

    What a great job you did! You are a doll for letting us go through Super Sabado withdrawal a bit easier! Kudos to you.

  15. Hello! Thank you very much for mentioning me and for the empathy. You are doing a great job here! Love from Sicily.

  16. Jaye Wells says:

    Thanks for the mention. Glad to see you’re pitching in while Bonnie takes a much-deserved rest.

  17. […] Sunday!”) to take the place of my Super Sabado. Yay, April! She did a bang-up job last week. Everybody go visit her and cheer her […]

  18. Steve says:

    Nice of you. A little on the small side, but I can adjust that with my computer. Good on you.

  19. sherry says:

    Oh thank you so much, April.

    I was so worried that my brussel sprouts were going to go un noticed…Not that anyone around here could have missed them!

  20. Glitterati says:

    Hi April, I’m late getting here, but thanks so much for featuring my onomatopoeia in your Domingo Delicioso! (You better believe I had to google how to spell that word… :D) Look forward to reading all the hilarious web snippets you’ll find!

    Oh, and as for the mask, I don’t know that you can buy it in regular retail, it seems like most vendors are online. Ah, the thrill of the Ebay hunt…


Leave a Reply

