Well, DUH!


moon.jpgYep. It’s a full moon. And you can throw all the scientific crap you want to at me about it not having an effect on people and their actions, because I will believe it does until the day I die. I hate to admit it, but I KNOW it affects me. (Sorry, Mr. Man.) My ruling planet is the Moon, you know.

My Dad, also a moonchild, died during a full moon. The full moon was a reminder to us for quite awhile after he passed…the way the sky was lit, and how it made our setting bright but dim at the same time. As if we were walking around in an alternate reality.  Then one night, not long after, another full moon rose, and the light streamy clouds that black night formed a cross right behind the bright round disc. Then we knew. Everything was going to be okay. We were still sad, will always be sad about missing Daddy, but somehow, we were comforted.

Today, I went to Dell.com to check on my status for that new toy laptop I ordered, and the computer told me that the order had been cancelled. WHAT? WHAT?! So I hop over to my mailbox and zip a letter off to my representative, who sends back a reply that she will help me as soon as she completes another call…in about 15 minutes. In all reality, that is more than reasonable. But I was sweating it out, wondering what might have gone wrong with my account, or what the hold up was. It wasn’t even 15 minutes when she called back, telling me everything was just fine, the purchase just had a new order number applied to it. The universe is screwing with me, man.

Yesterday I went to McDonald’s for a Diet Coke, cheating on my beloved Sonic, just so I could save a buck (However, I DO like the straws at MickeyD’s better. I don’t know why. Maybe I just like ’em bigger. *snort*) I order my drink, then pull up to the first window.

“Um,” asks the young girl-type clerk, “What did you have?”

“I had a 42 Oz. Diet Coke.”

She looks puzzled. “Then what did the car in front of you have?”

I wait a beat, to see if she is joking. She’s not. Seriously. “I don’t know. I’m not in that car.”

“Okay. That’ll be 89 cents.”

I pay her, and then look forward. The car in front of me is handing back the drink delivered to her. Obviously, there is more confusion. When my turn comes, I find out that they no longer have the 42 oz. size, just the 32 oz. size. I was all set for a 42 oz that would last awhile longer. I should never have cheated on Sonic. I could have had my 44 oz. there. Oh well. At least I got the bigger straw.

And last night I watched Big Medicine on TLC. It’s a program about obese people who choose surgery by a father-son practice in Houston to lose weight. Either by Gastric Bypass ot LapBand. Surgery is a choice I’m not interested in, but I watch this show, and another one–well, I can’t remember the name of it but suffice it to say that lately, if has to do with being fat, I’m watching it. I need the inspiration, because when I get back from our vacation, I’m changing a few things around here. But that’s another topic.

Anyway, there’s this 700 and some-odd pound 24 year old woman from Shreveport, LA was being profiled. I’m sitting here, listening to her tale of woe, and to her Mama that definitely has a sense for the dramatic (as she prepares her baby another plate of butter-laden food piled high.) When the girl starts to talk about what made her super-obese, this is what she had to say:

“I don’t know why I’m so fat, or why I gained so much weight so fast.” **Sniff Sniff** “I guess it must be the food or somethin’.”

Uh, well, yeah.

Don’t get me wrong. I, myself, have a medical condition where my hormones make it harder for me to lose weight (Not to mention the whole difficulty with getting pregnant.) But I have to take responsibility for the fact that I eat too damn much, and too damn much of the wrong thing, and don’t get enough exercise. And that I’ve become lazy and self-indulgent. I’ve let depression get the better of me, and it’s time to turn that around. Once I made that decision last week, *BING* my mood improved and I felt more optimistic about everything. For a few minutes, anyway. More on this load of crap later.

Back to the full moon thing– it’s just been a mish-mash of weird stuff that’s been happening, And it’s enough to make me howl in frustration. 🙂

Do you ever notice anything weird about full moons?

2 Comments on “Well, DUH!”

  1. Gabrielle says:

    When I worked on the phones, we would seriously get crazy and/or abusive callers on full moons. Including one guy who called himself Moondoggie. He would also write us these massive, rambling letters.

    Good for you on changing your life–I’m glad you’re feeling better. One single tip, but I think it’s really, really important. Lose the soda. Diet soda DOESN’T help you lose weight and you’re taking in some really harmful chemicals. As much as I miss soda, I know it’s really bad. I think I miss the sparkling stuff more than anything, so I have sparkling water with lime juice, just to get that sparkle. It’s not easy, but it is SO much better for you.

  2. desperatewriter says:

    Thanks, Gabrielle! You’re absolutely right…I really should at least cut down on them.


Leave a Reply

