You know how one thing leads to another?


One of my guilty pleasures is watching all those “ghosty” stories on TV. You know, Haunted History, Haunted Hotels, Ghost Hunters and the like?  One night this week, I saw one show that mentioned a supposedly haunted cemetery called “Hollywood Forever.” So today, while procrastinating, I looked up that cemetery, because another of my guilty pleasures is celebrity trivia, and cemetery browsing. Weird, I know, but oh well.

I came across this at Westwood Village Memorial Park:

Director/Writer Billy Wilder’s headstone

billywildersmall.JPG

Billy Wilder is known for such classics as SOME LIKE IT HOT, THE APARTMENT, SABRINA, THE FORTUNE COOKIE, and many, many others. Interestingly, the same cemetery is the final resting place for Marilyn Monroe, Walter Matthau and Jack Lemmon, who starred in some of the movies I mentioned. And with the exception of Marilyn, they all died within a year of each other: Matthau, Lemmon and then Wilder.

Betcha didn’t know that…

4 Comments on “You know how one thing leads to another?”

  1. Selma says:

    Thank you so much for this. I am a huge Billy Wilder fan. He had such an incredible sense of humour. What a great quote!

  2. Ms. Karen says:

    I’m also a big fan of “haunted” shows. Um, I keep thinking I already posted here, but it went away. Maybe it didn’t work…

    Anyway, I also enjoy strolling through an old cemetary or two. The one in Jacksonville, Oregon is one of my favorites. Er, if it doesn’t sound too weird having a cemetary as a favorite thing.

  3. desperatewriter says:

    Great, that’s good to hear, Karen! 🙂 I find them fascinating!

  4. desperatewriter says:

    Glad you like it, Selma!


Leave a Reply

