Domingo Delicioso #21


Well, when I sleep, I evidently sleep hard.

49667_512.jpgEarly Saturday morning, there was a three-alarm fire about a block away from me. (And across the street from my Mom’s house!) 8 firetrucks were sent out, and about 30 firemen fought the blaze. There were also various support vehicles and personnel on the scene. Lights. Sirens. Action.

FIRE!!!!!!
I sleep with my window open, and we live, as I said, about a block away. I heard NOTHING. Nada. I guess Mr. Man didn’t either. One of our neighbors heard the chaos and smelled the billowing smoke. He stepped out and could SEE the fire when he7242603_bg1.jpg climbed up on top his dune buggy to look.

When I stumbled out into the world on the way to work, I saw the haze through my sleep-bleary eyes, but guessed someone was mowing their dirt (yes, we make terrible dust clouds around here when we mow in the dry season) or constructing something. But I passed the intersection and saw all the ruckus, and thought, “What the HECK?” By that time, 9:15, the fire had already been burning about 5 hours.

Mom said there were lights and sirens and a crowd…she was certain I would call soon, worried about her. If I’d heard it, I would have! I assured her of that.

________________________________________________________________dumbledore-is-gay-lolcat.jpg

So, what’s all this about J.K. Rowling’s revelation that Dumbledore is gay?

Why is Dumbledore’s sexuality an issue at all? It isn’t in any of the books’ plotlines, not even close. It just isn’t important. Evidently, it’s important to JK; I guess, in the CNN article, it mentions that the director of the next movie had decided to take liberties to reveal some of Dumbledore’s deep dark past by linking him with a young girl as a love interest. So JK set him straight. (Oh, oops, bad pun.) And the fan fiction seems to have speculated. But…WHY? It’s just not important to the story of Harry Potter…not to me, not in the least. Maybe it was a part of her character sketch, which some of us construct before writing our drafts, some of the info only she needed to know about the character. I simply don’t care, and don’t think it was important. The books are done, that element wasn’t included, so don’t go all George Lucas on me and decide you want to fiddle with the story and redo them to make them better. It’s OVER. The series has been put to bed. Printed. Shipped. Quit messing with it. Even if it’s just for discussion. Don’t. Mess. With. The. Books.

Then she goes on to take a jab at “Christian groups that have alleged the books promote witchcraft.” She says it will give them one more reason not to like her work.

She did take a beating from SOME Christian groups, I know. Who can blame her for being a bit hurt by it and taking a jab at the criticism, or at the very least a little miffed as she laughs all the way to the bank?

I would like to remind Ms. Rowling that there were plenty of Christians out here, like Mr. Man and myself, that read the books for pure escape and entertainment, and because JK tells a brilliant story. We defended the novels. Lumped it in with fiction like Cinderella, Bewitched, Charmed and all the other stories like those. And cited Christian authors such as C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien and their wonderful creations as parallels. Plus, Harry Potter is a definite tale about good vs. evil, with good and decency and morals winning out. It got people, especially kids, excited about reading.

I think J.K. Rowling has an agenda. No, not stirring up the gay issue. Just look at the publicity she’s getting over this shocking bit of news. Nothing like free advertisement and keeping your name out there. As if it could get any MORE out there than it already is…and the near nip-slip in front of the cameras the other day, though unintentional, didn’t hurt either!

Brilliant. 😉

___________________________________________________________

I was impressed today by a young man named McKay Hatch who started the No Cussing Club. It’s refreshing to see some good news about kids for a change. Check out his website!

______________________________________________________________

NOW you get it. They’re BOTH nuckin’ futs.

**Hehehe.** There has to be one in every neighborhood, Ms. Karen! Out in the yard with a leaf-blower in a windstorm…gee. Very cool about your trip! I had another friend go last year and had a BLAST.

___________________________________________________________

I think as part of their sentence they should be fed rat poison then locked alone in a room to see what happens. It only seems fair.

I agree, Selma. Bastards.

__________________________________________________________

To see all the weeks’ prizes of Jacquie’s Great Holiday Contest Fest, go to my website and click on Contest.

Oooh! Cool Jacquie!

_______________________________________________________________

That wasn’t bad at all!

Wow! That’s great, Lady Shanny! Maybe someday I’ll catch on to your go-get-‘im-ness!

____________________________________________________________

Mulletman returned from his visit to the holy land (ie. Texas) and helped too. I kissed him everytime he got to the top of the stairs 🙂

Sending big Texas blessings (and prayers) your way, Groovy! Look at all the memories you made on that trip! Someday, you’ll look back on this and LAUGH…like I did reading your post. (Sorry. You’re just such a good storyteller!)

___________________________________________________________

Those are a few that come to mind at the moment. I’ll post more as I remember them!

I’ve read some of those, Jenny, and they ARE great reads. I look forward to exploring those I’m not familiar with yet.

____________________________________________________________

I was chatting with a friend that I’d like to live over a bookstore, one that I own. That way, I could go down and hangout in the bookstore, another place I love. You know that book store Meg Ryan had in You’ve Got Mail, only maybe a little bigger. And it would need to have a small coffee shop so I’d have fraps and ready made sandwiches. Oh, and coffee cake. And it should be in Maine in some quaint town.

Candy, that sounds absolutely perfect. Great title for your new book, btw.

________________________________________________________________

There was Victoria and her sons Jarrod, Nick, and Heath. And then there was Audra, the baby of the family, the only daughter.

Oooh, I used to watch that, too, Beverly! The guy who played Nick came to town one time for our Tri-State Fair Parade, and I got his autograph! Um…who knows where it is today…..

____________________________________________________

And though I have yet to read Sebold’s novel, I’m feeling a little twitchy on her behalf. Because don’t all these “toos” feel like a box? Too much like the world’s critics were expecting Lovely Bones 2 and are now kvetching because they didn’t get it?

Therese–I think getting pigeon-holed happens to a lot of successful authors. Good for Alice that refuses to stay in the box! (Love your Google Notebook, btw!)

_____________________________________________________________

 

 

 

Two weeks till Craig Ferguson in Austin!

 

7 Comments on “Domingo Delicioso #21”

  1. Lady Shanny says:

    Great, as usual! You intice me to click on all the links with the little snippets of the posts and then your comments. I found Ms Karen through you, so thank you, VERY MUCH!

    I don’t know if this is tacky to say or not, but my link is broken 😦 (there is a ‘3’ at the end of the link for some reason so it’s not going through).

    Have a great Sunday!

  2. desperatewriter says:

    Thanks, Lady Shanny! Isn’t Ms. Karen a hoot? And look at your picture… how pretty you are! No, thanks for telling me about your link, I’ll go check it out and get it fixed!

  3. Jennifer Y. says:

    Just wanted to say that I really like your blog (found it through the Petticoats and Pistols blog)! I love the snippets and comments you have here!

  4. desperatewriter says:

    Hey, thanks, Jennifer! Glad to have you!

  5. Groovy says:

    There are many in this world who would pay money to be able to sleep that soundly!

  6. Selma says:

    So glad your Mum was O.K. I had to be evacuated from a bush fire about 10 years ago and it was terrifying.

    I also don’t get the whole Dumbledore is gay thing. I must admit to feeling a little peeved about it. I mean, is it relevant? Like you, I read the Harry Potter series for enjoyment. Just what is JK Rowling up to with this one? Surely she doesn’t need any more publicity than she already has. Leave poor Dumbledore alone!


Leave a Reply

