I Have A Naked Muse…


…and he/she’s angry.

A woodland gnome, or nymph, according to our visitor to critique group on Wednesday.  According to Psychic, my muse is angry because I haven’t been listening to it (I will say IT because Psychic said it has no gender) and haven’t been writing.  Which is interesting, because Psychic doesn’t know me from Eve, and unless my fellow CP’s told her about me, how would she know that?

I went to this critique session in spite of knowing I should stay home and pack, because I was curious to know what our guest would have to say.  I’ve never had a psychic reading before.  I am a skeptical believer in that kind of stuff.  To explain, I believe people have gifts bestowed upon them by the Almighty, but I approach people who claim to have these gifts with extreme caution and reserve. But Diva J had had a private reading before, and despite her own cautious nature, she was impressed with Psychic’s abilities.

So last Wednesday, Psychic visits us at the behest of another guest, B-man. She goes around the room and gives the other Divas these wonderful readings, including auras and all that stuff.  She gets to me, and tells me that I need to watch my sugars, since diabetes runs in my family.  She then seems to move on behind me.

“Wait a minute,” I say, “You give all these girls a fantastic reading, and all you have to say to me is watch my blood sugar?” I mean, after all, I’m fat, she could see I might need to do that just by looking at me. (Diabetes does run in my family, though.)

“Well,” she explains, “Your afraid I might tell you something you don’t want to hear, so you’ve closed yourself off to me.”

I raise my brows. Well, I knew I was afraid she’d tell me the move wouldn’t go well, and we should stay put. But I really wanted to hear something.

“Oh, there you go,” she says, “Now you’re opening up.”

Uh huh.

She proceeded to speak with me, answering all the questions I had.  The most impressive thing I think was that she told me that about an hour before I was really mad at someone.  Which was TRUE.  It was longer than an hour before, but I did get flash-hot mad that afternoon.  (I wondered if my frown line between my brows had faded yet.)

She then told me about my naked woodland gnome muse, after I asked where the heck my muse had been hiding.

“I have a GNOME for a muse?” I ask.  “Like the Travelocity gnome?” It figured.

“Well, it’s more like a nymph.  And it’s naked. But has no gender.”

Oh.

Then I asked about my angels.  I know I have angels, but I wondered what she could tell me about mine.

She said I had two angels of the first choir looking out for me.  One was a male, an archangel, who I look to mainly for protection and not much else ( I think, from her tone, that he’s not too happy about that) and the female I identify with most, especially when I’m at odds with someone.   The bad news was, I only listen to them about 57 percent of the time. Which means, when I hear a “voice” suggesting I do one thing, then do another, then think “well, I should have…” that usually means I didn’t listen to my angels.

This leads to Psychic telling me that I have issues with control, and get frustrated with people when they don’t listen to my, ahem, wisdom.  She also said I tended to be stubborn, and had a problem with temperance. My fellow Divas seem to agree with this, while Mr. Man played dumb. “I don’t know where she got that,” he said with a twinkle in his eye. Mom asked if I told her I didn’t stand a chance when it came to being stubborn.  Seems that runs in the family, too.

She said I need to learn to let go and once I learn to let go of things, I will soar.  She also said this move was going to go well for us, and she was glad I was moving because I am too bogged down in emotion where I am right now (An interesting thing to say, since I’ve been struggling with the decision to sell this house.)

She said my aura was light red, which denotes energy, and there were bits of yellow (creativity) and white (pureness of spirit.)  She taught us how to find auras.  I don’t know about that.  I am open to the possibility that everything has an energy to it and it radiates, but when I tried it on a doorknob the other day, I thought I saw an aura there, too.  *shrug*

It was all very interesting, to say the least. Kinda got weird though when she started talking about the big change coming with the end of the Mayan calendar…

__________________________________

Well, we nearly have everything that needs to be packed, packed.  We are down to living on the bare bones, and now we just have to concentrate on extra cleaning and bits of repair.  And getting this house SOLD.  Last thing to do is to clean out THE CLOSET.  Ick. But I have tomorrow off from both jobs.  Badly needed!  Mr. Man and I are both stretched thin.  It’s amazing we haven’t hissed and scratched at each other more than we have during this process.  The unknown ahead of us is worrisome, and we just want this DONE.

Got a call from CPS today, and I explained to the rep that we are in the process of moving to a larger home to accommodate children better.  So we’ve been put on hold for awhile.  Luckily, we won’t lose the ground we’ve already gained, such as background checks, CPR classes, etc.  Hopefully we can get this wrapped up soon and back on track.

For now, I think I’m going to get into bed and melt into the mattress for a few hours.

3 Comments on “I Have A Naked Muse…”

  1. Ms. Karen says:

    I had an interesting psychic reading last year. I hadn’t told anyone that I was thinking I’d be happier writing for the YA crowd. Then she said, “I see success for you, but not in the way you may be thinking. You’ll feel better writing for a younger crowd. Not little children, or even school age kids, but not adults.” Um, that would be YA, and, uh, yeah…

    Good news on the move and that CPS is putting you on hold without making you start everything all over. I can’t wait for you to get into your new place. Come oooonnnnn buyers! You know you want that house!

  2. Selma says:

    I would love to have a reading by a psychic but so far I keep chickening out. I believe some people actually have the ability but there are so many charlatans out there and knowing my luck, I would pick one of them to do my reading.

    I know you’re going to sell your house soon. There is someone out there who will have to have it!

  3. Diva A says:

    Wow! What an eye-catching title! 🙂

    So, ever since she told you your gnome’s naked, I’ve been wondering about mine. Maybe, with each word that we write (including the ones on our blogs), a new thread magically appears, and soon our gnome has an entire outfit.

    I’m thinking, after this week of slaving over four synopses, mine should have a whole new wardrobe to choose from at this point. URG.

    Great blog! Of course, yours always rock!


Leave a Reply

