Poke!


Poke-poke-poke!

From  my comfortable nest on SisM and Brother’s sofa bed, I open my eyes to find a blonde angel staring at me. 

“It’s my birthday!”  Toddler grins, holding her pink blankie. “I’m four years old! Time to get up!”  She flies into her Mommy and Daddy’s room to make the same announcement.  Grandma got it first, having shared a room with the sweetie.

Yep, I spent the weekend with Toddler. Mom and I drove over to OKC for the Big Event. It felt great to play with her, tell her stories and snuggle.  She’s into Scooby Doo right now, and superheroes.  Superman, Spiderman, Wonder Woman, Batman and Robin.  She wants to be BatGirl for Halloween.

“Bats sleep upside down,” she informed me.  “And they eat bugs.”  Later, at Walgreens, Grandma bought Toddler a headband with a bat on  it, and we all got a turn at being the bad guy, while she saved the day.  That actually turned out to be a great tickle-fest.

A Scooby Doo birthday cake, four candles burning bright, and gifts all around.   “What’s next Dad, I’m ready!” she’d announce, rubbing her hands together with glee. Birthday lunch at Micky D’s– the one with the playground, of course.  Mr. Man calls, since he had to stay home because he was ON call. He tells Toddler Happy birthday, and she tells him all about Star Wars The Clone Wars, and hands the phone back to me.  But she asks for it back right quick and proudly announces to her uncle, “Oh, and I’m four years old!” 

Everything was a great time, but Toddler hates to say goodbye as much as we do.  When the time came,she refused to do it.  This was the second time that’s happened. She did it last month when we were there for the car show. I’d just written it off as her being tired. But when it happened again, I figured it out.  Mom told me later That she remembered another little girl who hated to say goodbye.  She said I used to throw up everywhere, I got so upset  when we left Aunt D and  Uncle B’s house.

I’m looking forward to seeing her again, hopefully in a couple of weeks.  She might be over for Halloween. 

In the meantime, I will hold the latest batch of memories close.

2 Comments on “Poke!”

  1. Ms. Karen says:

    Happy Birthday, Miss Toddler!

    Although, at four years old, you’re hardly a toddler any more. Maybe Auntie April should give you a new blog name for your birthday!

    (Auntie April, four is an AWESOME age. Five? meh, not as much fun. Enjoy four.)

  2. Diva A says:

    I think she should keep Toddler. Even when she’s in the double digits, you’ll find that she’s still Toddler to you. 🙂

    This is a beautiful post. Thanks so much for sharing it!


Leave a Reply

