In the quest for cleverness…


coffeeI got nothin’.

Things are surprisingly quiet at the moment, and I can’t seem to come up with any cleverness to astound you with. Not that I ever DID. 🙂

Our house now has a foundation. It sure looks tiny…yet it is supposed to  be 500 sq. ft. more than we have at present. Those I’ve spoken to that have had homes built assure me that this is normal. To just wait it out and have faith. Yeah, well, okay. I’m still not going to breathe a sigh of relief until we are actually living in the home. We’ve had our house on the market for a YEAR now.  I hope  something  unforseen doesn’t happen to screw us out  of this deal.

I’m starting to let myself get excited. Something I didn’t do when we picked out colors and tile and all that good stuff.

Ladybug and Girlchild have fun going by the land and seeing te progress. They are supposed  to have it finished by the end of August, but I’ll be shocked to my toes if that happens.

Speaking  of the girls–

They are doing splendidly. Ladybug has knocked off telling lies so much. Either that,or she’s getting better at it. The kind of fibs we had problems with her telling  stemmed from insecurity and the need to make herself more that she thought she was. The fact that she has started to let that habit go is encouraging. Girlchild is seeming more secure too, more relaxed with  us. Morewilling to go withthe fact we are fulfilling a parental role, without trying to replace her natural parents. Which I wouldn’t hesitate to do, if asked.

But both still speak  of missing their parents, which is only natural. I pray,  for the sake of these kids, that the parents can get it together.

*************************************************

I’m having a summer lull in my business. Ick. You know, if someone with some dough laying around wanted to toss a few thousand my way, it would be greatly appreciated. I have PayPal, just let me know. RIGHT…..

The ol’ second job at the grocery store isn’t really helping out. Much. Between my availability and their scheduling…5 hours a week isn’t going to cut it. I’m thinking about turning in my notice.

********************************************************************

I was so excited when a  friend  at the salon gave me a copy of the latest PEOPLE magazine (well, last week’s anyway),  pointing out Linda Castillo’s great placement and review for SWORN TO SILENCE in the “books” section.  I’m  tellin’ ya, this book, and Linda, really deserve all the kudos that are popping up everywhere. This is an exciting series, and  not to be missed! Read this article in Cleveland.com! And this letter from Linda  at a cool website I just found, She Loves Hot Reads.com!

***********************************************************

Jennifer Archer and Mary Schramski’s new blog, Menopause Musing: Writing Without Periods, is getting better and better! If  you need a lift to your day, make sure  and stop  by!

**********************************************************

My own writing has been nil, as usual. I just don’t know what to say about that. The excuses just aren’t cutting it any more.  They are tiresome,  in fact.  Blah.

But it feels good to blog again, even when  I don’t really have anything to say.

4 Comments on “In the quest for cleverness…”

  1. I’ve been pretty much out the blogosphere for WEEKS of busy-ness. It DOES feel good to be back! Sounds like there’s alot of adjusting going on in your home. That’s MORE than enough reason to sandbag the writing. Think of this as the research phase!

  2. Sonya says:

    Sometimes it’s hard to get into the swing of writing when we’ve been out of it even for a few days. I did hear about a great writing mentoring contest that started today with multi-published author Kylie Brant at http://kyliebrant.com/contest.php
    I saw that the winner gets a mentoring session. She’s published at Harlequin and Berkley so I’m thinking she knows her stuff.

  3. Brittney says:

    Hey there!

    I saw you commented about sheloveshotreads.com, and I wanted to let you know that we’ve redesigned the site. Hope you like it!

    Cheers,
    Brittney
    SMP

  4. So, I hope your house is farther along now. We are building one right now, too, and you are right that the foundation looks really, really small. Still, it’s bigger than the 30 foot trailer we are living in while the house gets built. Best of luck with all your writing!


Leave a Reply

